top of page
  • Charlotte Edmonds

Glastonbury’s successful plastic ban.

As were all trying to get over the Glastonbury blues and heading back to work, I think for me it’s time to reflect on the festival and it’s plastic-ban.


It is well known, and well praised that Worthy Farm for 2019 banned sales of Single-use plastic across the site.

A historic moment in terms of acting.


Don’t get me wrong, I care for the environment and understand the damage being caused.

However, I could do more and being at Glastonbury this past weekend has shown me this. While also looking at the world around me thinking ‘simple changes will make the difference’.


I lived plastic free for the duration of Glastonbury and due to the high level of implementation, it was a great success.


Food and drink sales across the site were the most obvious and important changes, with the majority of attendees buying from food and drink stalls all weekend.

Plastic plates were replaced by a cardboard or polystyrene version.

Plastic cups for cider, lager and spirits were cardboard.

Wooden forks,spoons and chopsticks etc replaced plastic.



I could go on.

But, did any of this cause me any inconvenience across the weekend? No, of course not.

Simple changes implemented well, will change the world.


It was a scorching weekend at Pilton so in terms of staying hydrated, it was easily managed. 800+ water refill stations were available so Festival goers could re-fill throughout the weekend.

This encouraged everyone to re-use and re-duce.

And for those who didn’t, water was in a can and stainless steel bottles were available to buy.



I do not doubt the plastic ban within the festival encouraged reduction when packing.

We all brought cans of alcohol, and water bottles to refill throughout the weekend.


I know I won’t be the only one to leave the festival with a changed perspective and wanting to act. I just hope wider conglomerates see the success it can have.

However, if it has changed a few people minds like my own that is a success by itself.

No inconveniences causes but a big wider impact.


Thank you Emily Eavis and Micheal Eavis for acting, you pave the way for change.






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page